Saunders Heath Completes Construction of The Stanley Carriage House
The Historic Carriage House is the Last Structure of F.O. Stanley’s Legacy
On July 4, 2021, The Stanley Hotel celebrated 112-years with the grand opening of The Carriage House. Originally built in 1909, The Carriage House is the last of the original four structures on the Stanley campus to be renovated. Initially used to house F.O. Stanley’s steamer vehicles in the early 1900s, it was briefly transformed into a motel in the 1950s but has been left vacant for over a quarter century.
Every effort was made to retain historical accuracy of the original construction by using similar materials and design of the original Carriage House. With little historical information available during design, it was intentional to honor the known historical features and characteristics of the overall Stanley Campus. In areas where original materials were not reusable or repairable, similar construction craftsmanship and materials were used. The construction team’s largest hurdle was the rehabilitation of the historic roof structure. This required detailed measurements upfront to ensure the new building structure would fit the existing roof. The construction team preserved the entire roof structure and exterior walls were reconstructed to match the original in design, color, texture, materials and construction technique.
The Post Chicken and Beer restaurant occupies the first floor and an entertainment venue for illusionist Aiden Sinclair’s Underground occupies the basement level. The Post’s patio creates a true Colorado experience where guests can enjoy locally brewed beer and Colorado-style fried chicken, while taking in the vast views of the Rocky Mountains and Lake Estes. The 80-person capacity venue for Aiden Sinclair’s Underground offers a permanent home for the renowned illusionist. Whether a local Estes Park resident, a tourist visiting for the first time, or a returning guest, the Stanley Campus and Carriage House offers something for everyone.